I once Loved a Girl

I once loved a girl just because she

was better a person in all, than me

Her smile was enough to set everything right

My anger would disappear and my will to fight

 

Her kindness was so- that it knew no bounds

She was like a princess; without the crown

And her simplicity; Oh! the way she dressed

Even the mighty God would be impressed

 

I talked to her everyday and she talked to me

Making her mine, I thought, was my destiny

Did she fancy me too? that I didn’t know

But just to be on the safe side, I took it slow

 

The day I found out that she loved me too

A question pierced my heart through and through

Did a boy like me deserve a gal like her?

She was a princess, and she deserved better

 

I thought about this question well and through

‘Till morning turned to night and the night turned blue

And then I took the decision to just let her go

I would never tell her that I loved her so

 

I once loved a girl just because she

was better a person in all than me

She loved me too, and I think that’s true

And there was nothing more that I could do

 

And now when I look at the decision I made

of great surprise, was to her aid

She’s happy with a guy who’s better than me

And that alone is enough to keep me happy

 

And I once loved a girl just because she

Was better a person in all than me

Its nice to share what you think of what you read

