ChildHood Memories: 1. Of Balls And Kidneys

When I was little, I always thought that my balls were my kidneys. When the teacher taught us she never pointed to where the organs were. And when I saw pictures of Kidneys attached to the penis, I always thought they were shown that way to enable easy labelling.
I mean there were legit reasons in thinking my balls were my kidneys weren’t there?

  • The teacher said kidneys produce urine.. My balls were close to the place I pee from.. so YEAH..
  • A kidney was a pair.. and so were my balls..
  • The kidneys lay side to side in the drawing and so did my balls
  • My balls felt a little kidney shaped.. but that’s just perception.. Maybe my mind was filling up the blanks

It was a lot later that I figured that Kidneys were something different altogether. I think I realised the difference when I saw the father of a friend of mine had stitches after a kidney transplant or something. His stitches were to the side and this made me wonder. Funny how we make assumptions from simple logic, isn’t it?

 

4 comments

  1. OMG! This almost made me wet myself hahahahahha!

    1. Imagine how I felt when I found out the truth

      1. Relieved I hope, at least now if you need to donate a kidney you know you won’t lose a ball!

Its nice to share what you think of what you read

