A Placeholder for the future

I met a stranger in the alleyway today
All dressed up in a grand suit
His shoes shiny enough to reflect his grin
And a top hat to top it all up..

He asked me for a light to burn up a cigarette..
I said I didn’t have any for I did not smoke…
And now that he thought he’d broken the ice
He started asking me deep questions about life

And because he was but a stranger to me
I did not feel any obligation to answer
I did however feel a sense of betrayal
As he told me of the rumors he’d heard…

And I know that this poem is shit to you
But I wanted to write it anyway
A metaphor hidden in the words somewhere
Would remind me of a past where I was betrayed

2 comments

  1. Geneviève · · Reply

    Ha! I know this person! Cookie cutter cut out, back stabbing, trash talker.

    1. We all have someone like this in our lives, don’t we?

Its nice to share what you think of what you read

