When Tragedies become Normal

Regarding the earthquake that happened in India just now, I told a friend that I’ve stopped feeling that earthquakes are much of a tragedy now..

It reminds me of a video by Henry Reich of minutephysics titled “When Insanity Becomes Normal”..

Is it that I have started treating “non-normal tragedies” as “normal events” because they happen all too regularly?

I mean I always found myself opposing when people treated tragedies caused by culture and tradition as normal, but I question if in another way, I am turning into someone who starts viewing general loss as just a way of life. Does this make me a better person?

 

For those interested.. Here’s the video link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmvAdRntWH8

Its nice to share what you think of what you read

