Rude

I find myself “rude” for a generation that doesn’t understand anything more than traditions. As if you’re just rude for doing things in a different way. Like greet someone with a hello and a handshake rather than a “Namaste”.
I find myself “rude” for a generation who thinks touching  someone else of a different sex has to be sexual. Like I couldn’t touch a friend just to pull her cheek or mess her hair up without turning it sexual. I find myself being portrayed as the guy who hugs someone tight just to feel her breasts against mine instead of the guy who just needs a friend to hold on to.
I find myself “rude” for the generation repressed enough to never openly talk about sex unless it’s about condemning rape and pointing out the details of why it was the victim’s fault. I guess it’s just me that doesn’t understand that society has a set of rules to define what a person is from the way he talks and the way he behaves. Like the guy who uses the word “Fuck” at times must be a bad guy because this guy knows a bad word. Like a rapist couldn’t hide behind the mask of a sweet talker but always finds his signature as a person who speaks freely about things.
I find myself “rude” for a generation telling me it’s not OK to walk while I eat, to talk to a friend for hours, to hold someone’s hand to grab attention or to get them to walk faster, to sleep late because I’ve been working all night, all because it does not follow the normal human pattern. Like being “normal” was a standard that needed to be maintained. That you needed to fake sincerity among elders to show that you are a good person. That people who are respectful couldn’t be bad and people who spoke too much couldn’t be good.
I find myself “rude” for a generation that still believes in invisible magical creatures and calls me out for having some posters of my favourite super-villian on my wall. I find myself “rude” for a generation which considers it good to spend the whole night singing songs for an imaginary person but considers it bad when you spend it with friends enjoying a good human experience. Like spending lots of money in doing pooja at home is good but spending a few bucks to go outside with friends means that you’re developing a bad habit.
I find myself “rude” for the generation who appreciates and happily dances to item songs in their children’s birthdays and still points out things wrong with the songs when they’re not busy.
I find myself “rude” to a generation for not using the “homeopathy” medicine they “swear to their death” will work if I believe and try them out. “Have this powder with milk every night and you will feel better within days. It’s completely ‘natural’ and has been used as a remedy for hundreds of years.”
I find myself “rude” for a generation that’s stuck on “what will people say”? Pointing out how some uncle know-it-all saw me walking with a friend and how it is a big deal and everyone in he family is talking about it. Like the members of the family have nothing better to do than sit around and gossip about other people. (oh.. wait…)
I find myself “rude” for a generation that doesn’t understand anything more than traditions. As if you’re just rude for doing things in a different way. I guess I’ll never stop being “rude” to people.

Its nice to share what you think of what you read

